maiodrug.blogg.se

Vmware vs virtualbox windows xp
Vmware vs virtualbox windows xp





vmware vs virtualbox windows xp

I like to use my third monitor to keep my email open, and pdf documentation, or word documents and use the other two monitors for my VM so I can see multiple code windows in Visual Studio at the same time (VS2010). It only gives you the option to use all of your monitors or one, it won't do 2 if you haveģ. The RDP console leaves much to be desired. With hyper-v your limited to using The Connect console, or Remote Desktop Protocol to see the virtual machine. VM using it as your environment to write code and design, then Oracle VirtualBox is better than Hyper-V. If you intend to be using Virtualizatio to develop software, like Working with SharePoint from a developer standpoint, building asp.net web applications, or even doing C++, desktop applications, or Android, Php etc, if you are going to be physically on the In my opinion Hyper-V is only better if your using Hyper-V to host servers, like Microsoft SharePoint, Active Directory, Sql Server, or even MySql to provide resources. I would like to start with a domain controller, and maybe a Lync server so we can share desktops, etc. I think we really need to make good use of virtualization if we are going to be doing it at all.Īdvice welcome also for virtualization best practices, backups, management, infrastructure design, etc. We have only been virtualizing workstations.

vmware vs virtualbox windows xp

With the hardware, and that VirtualBox is a bad idea for this environment.Ĭan someone give some good reasons why we should be using Hyper-V? Also is it possible to convert the virtual machines?Īnd then I would like to know if it's okay to also be virtualizing our web server and oracle server, etc. I'm no expert (and that's why I'm here) but I think they operate at different levels of interaction When we started virtualizing about a year ago, for whatever reason, and although everyone has an MSDN sub, we started using VirtualBox instead of Hyper-V. Team foundation server, oracle server, web server, 2 virtualization servers, and multiple workstations, some virtualized, some not. We have 4-5 people in a software development environment with access to 4 servers, each with 2 quad-core or dual-core cpu's (core-based, before nehalem), and 8gb or 16gb RAM, so I think we have a good amount of power for virtualization.







Vmware vs virtualbox windows xp